Messages I received on woman’s day!


I am so blessed to be surrounded by such appreciative people. Who send me messages like these:

Here’s to the woman who knows draws strength from troubles, smiles during distress and grows stronger with prayers and hope. 

Well, what if I am not that woman who smiled during distress? Can’t you just say happy woman’s day to you?!

It is hard to be a woman. You must think like a man, act like a lady, look like a young girl and work like a horse. Happy women’s day!

Please! You put 4 stereotypes in one sentence and expect me to be happy that you remembered me on woman’s day?

Maa hai woh, beti hai woh, behen hai woh to kabhi patni hai woh. Jeevan ke har sukh dukh mein shaamil hai woh. shakti hai woh, prerna hai woh. Naman hai un sab nariyon ko jo jeevan ke har mod pe hamara saath deti hai. Mahila divas ki badhaai. (She is a mother, she is a sister and she is a wife. She is a part of all happiness and difficulties of our lives. She is strength and inspiration. Lets bow to all those women who are with us in all modes of our loves. Happy women’s day)

Yes. I am a mother. I am also a wife. I am also a daughter. But I am me too. And that is the biggest part of who I am. Yes, I am there for my family just as they are there for me. No I don’t need you to bow to me for that because you don’t bow to someone for doing what they’re supposed to.  It is not a wives day or a daughters day or a sisters day. It is a women’s day. Let us wish women a happy day only because they are women. Not because they are good wives and daughters and sisters.

And yes, to all the women reading these – Happy women’s day. i.e. Belated. 🙂 Hope you had a good one. ❤

33 thoughts on “Messages I received on woman’s day!

  1. Bikramjit says:

    This might sound controversial BUt why have a woman’s day .. is that ONE day we need to have a woman’s day ..
    should we not have it evryday and better still Should we not appreciate each other as HUMANS rather than a Man or a Woman ..

    maybe I am completely off my rockers

    Like

    • A regular Indian girl! says:

      Of course we should reciprocate to each other as humans and that should be everyday. Just as we have a childrens day or an independence day, we have womens day. Does it even slightly mean that we don’t cherish children or our independence everyday? 🙂 Its just a day. Btw, we also have a mens day. On november 19 every year. 🙂

      And no, you are not completely off your rockers!!! 😛

      Like

  2. IndianDrifter says:

    belated happy womens day and well said. I find it very irritating when someone comments something like ” you are a mother now and need to dress accordingly” what does that mean? being a mom means i cannot wear my attitude?

    Does being a mom and wife mean that i have to give up my individuality?

    Liked by 1 person

      • IndianDrifter says:

        I have had women at work tell me that their husbands and families wont let them wear denims as it is disgraceful for a “bahu” to wear it. I honestly couldnt find a response to that.. I was stumped! the man of the house can wear denims and do anything .. She also wasnt allowed for team dinners because no wife and mother stays out late with team and she has a duty towards her husband,son and inlaws.

        Trust me this is true and happened to a lady at work!!!

        Like

        • A regular Indian girl! says:

          God! That is so medieval! Of course she can dress up the way she wants, be it denims or a cocktail dress! And just like her husband can go for team dinners, she can too! She also has a career right? And is she the only one who has responsibilities towards spouse and son?! Loads of crap!

          Liked by 1 person

          • IndianDrifter says:

            Sure is a load of dung ..I was shocked on her behalf and this was love marriage..imagine if it were arranged?

            She would confide her troubles to me because I had been there for her at a time of need .

            Her story scared me …And the man married her knowing that she was a bubbly girl who wore dresses and went to team parties ..But after marriage he started to behave different and his parents too .. the husband wife were not even given date nights because his parents got upset if husband-wife ever went out for a dinner alone.

            There is so much bias it’s not even funny.

            Like

    • A regular Indian girl! says:

      Serial bahus and betis are a work of pure fiction. I don’t think there is actually anyone out there like them!! They’re really funny in a melodramatic kind of way 😛

      Yes, I wouldn’t go extra miles for someone to be appreciated. And once I know thats how they appreciate things, I would stop it even if I were to do it otherwise 😛 I am twisted that way!!!

      Like

  3. Priya says:

    Who smiles during distress? Who looks like a young girl even while working like a horse? Only Bollywood heroines. As for real life women, we cry during distress and we look tired when we’re working hard. I know it’s hard to break the bubble but hello, we women are human!

    Happy Women’s Day to you RIG!:)

    Liked by 4 people

  4. ANooP says:

    Hey there,

    I think intention was to make you (women) feel good. Forgive me, I can’t see an offense in any of the above. hehe ! Or is it me being stupid?

    I know nothing particularly is happening for Women out there, but I am talking only about the words in this post.

    Wish you a belated Happy Women’s day! Tc

    Like

Any thoughts??

