A sister is little bit of childhood that can’t be lost!


I can’t believe I have blogged for better part of a year and haven’t mentioned Hobbes yet! (I call her Hobbes because I love to believe that I am the smarter one! πŸ˜‰ )

I’ve realised one thing – Distance does make the hearts grow fonder. Or may be,Β this is just one of the moments when melancholy rushes over you when you think of her going away to another country pretty soon.

She’s been planning her MS for over a year now but now that the tests are done and acceptance letters have started coming in, the hazy picture of hers in a foreign place has started getting clearer. And proud though I may be, I feel lost at the same time.

My little sister is going away. A place where I cannot pull her hair or make silly faces or wear her new shoes before she can! A place where she cannot cuddle Happy when she wants or see him doing silly things that sends her to mad hysterical laughs!

Something I have never ever told anyone and sure as hell, I am never going to tell her is – she is the better version of me. More loving, more caring, more forgiving, confident, sexy and fun! Its like she has the best mix of qualities from our parents!

And she’s the only one before whom I am totally myself! Not even Simba! She has seen me fight unfair, be overcome with jealousy, distraught over exam-fever! She has seen me wear horrendous clothes (remember the cringe-worthy clothing of 90s?)!! And she’s still loved me. Always.

Here are few lines I dedicate to her (I’ve copied this from her various poems she gave to me πŸ˜› Yes, I am asΒ un-creative as they can get)

You are a part of me, and will never leave my heart,Β All the times we have shared, though we never really cared!Β Its funny how we argue at times, I guess its normal to show,Β But having you as a sister means more to me than you’ll ever know!

Fights and words, thoughts that been heard, my sister, you’ll always be a representation of myself and I know you got my back just as I got yours without anything to lack! Its sibling love ❀ ❀ ❀

Wish you the best of everything, forever. You are a soul to my life and I’ll always be grateful I got you! ❀

48 thoughts on “A sister is little bit of childhood that can’t be lost!

  1. Priya says:

    Lovely post! My sister is 10 years older to me, she always looked out for me when we were kids, so no fights (all the fights were with my brother:)
    Your sis going away to US brings back memories. I was in her place 20 years ago, coming to US for grad school. It was very different back then, no skype, no social media, you really felt the distance. Although I missed seeing my family, I absolutely loved it here. People are very nice and helpful. I always felt safe in public places. I learnt what it is to feel completely free – I would sit in a coffee shop, wearing my shorts, reading my book, without even one unwanted remark or negative attention coming my way. All my friends were so laid back, they didn’t have a “time table” for life – it was so liberating! Americans have a great sense of humor. They are also very accepting of weaknesses. There is very little pretense. Your friends will tell you exactly what grades they got:) Including Cs and Ds:) They don’t get competitive or jealous if you get all As. Your sister will love it here (I hope) and you guys can skype with each other everyday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A regular Indian girl! says:

      Hey thank you so much Priya! πŸ™‚ It is reassuring to know that she’ll be free. We lack that in India a lot. And I am happy because I know she’ll live a better life than she could have here.

      I can imagine how it must have been for you without all the social media and skype! But yet, you say you loved it there. I have no doubts she is going to have the time of her life!!

      I crave this – “All my friends were so laid back, they didn’t have a “time table” for life – it was so liberating!” Thanks πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ranju says:

    Aww… In a few months, my little sister will be leaving too. She is preparing for her boards. I sooo get the vibes here. This is a cute post with an emotional touch to it. Got me smiling in a sad sort of way. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. itsmayurremember says:

    As a person who himself wants to pursue studies abroad, it is really scary. You may have no clue how scared she must be. So i will tell you this, show her this piece. Or better, tell her.
    You both seem great siblings!

    Like

Any thoughts??

