Movember / No-shave-November!! What’s that?


Somewhere in October-end, Simba started asking me silly questions! What do I think of men who sport a stubble or a goatee or don’t shave at all!! I thought he was taking cues from his favorite boss again – the one who has a beard and yet looks amazing, is a terrific person and everybody loves him!!

But it turned out, it was something else! It was something called “movember” (for moustaches) and “no shave november” for beard and moustache both! He told me, since I was so concerned about women issues *rolls eyes*, I would like it if he stood up for men’s issues too!! And started mumbling something incomprehensible which sounded likeΒ ‘impulsive’ ‘can’t get enough bags’ and ‘can’t understand women’! πŸ˜‰

No doubt he was immensely misinformed! Men’s issues are not women’s shopping or impulsive nature or such other “perceived” women-behavior! Especially not the issues which Movember or no-shave-november stand for! It was about men’s health issues like prostate cancer and the likes.

The basic idea was to get men to save the money they would spend on shaving / hair cuts and donate them to charities who take care of men’s health issues!

AND, since I told him what the real reason for Movember or No-shave-november was, he decided to shave!!! No charities that concentrate on men’s health issues here, or none that we know of!!

And besides, he believes in donating to the needy directly. He wouldn’t give cash to a beggar (what if they go and get drunk instead of buying food), wouldn’t donate to organisations coming for “save girl child” or “education for rural children” (he is not sure what percentage is actually used up) and donates wherever he feels the money will used wisely / donates thingsΒ like books / clothes, etc.

Well, I digressed. But, the point is how many of us would go and look for reasons to do something rather than follow the crowd? I know of a few people who have posted their pics with beard (trimmed meticulously which would cost more than shaving it off completely!) or sporting moustaches like Ajay Devgan / Salman khan in some long-forgotten movies (again costing more than shaving at home!) which completely ruins the purpose for which these movements exist!!!

What do you think of Movember and No-shave-november? What do you think of charity – would you donate to organisations or rather go and donate to the beneficiaries?

This post is in response of “SHAVE AND ME” by a dear friend – Anoop of Tranquil Yet Alive – one of my first followers and favoritest bloggersΒ πŸ™‚ He nominated me to write on the topic. And in turn, I get to nominate three bloggers to continue the chain:

1. Sucheta of Sucheta the Scribbler

2. Storyteller of A wandering Story Teller

3. Christy of Verseherder

36 thoughts on “Movember / No-shave-November!! What’s that?

  1. Paritosh says:

    Hey..I just came across your blog… and I like it. Your post above made me laugh a bit… So that you know, this comes from a person who sports a stubble/beard on any given day of the year. In my case, we, i.e. the men in my team at work grew a moustache, got donations, organized a drinks-only party at the local bar to raise some more money (that was fun!) – and all that went to a cancer research institute. If done the right way, I think it can be a bit of fun, a bit of bonding, a bit of awareness, and a bit of feel-good factor about doing your little bit.

    Maybe next time you could consider letting Simba do this differently?

    Liked by 1 person

    • A regular Indian girl! says:

      Hahaha.. thanks for the comment! Glad I could make you laugh!! πŸ˜› And hey, I don’t have issues with stubbles / beards! Only herd behavior!

      If sporting a stubble helps raise money, or even awareness for men’s health / other issues, it is indeed a great gesture to be a part of that! The way you and your team did it sounds in the perfectly right spirit and thats amazing!

      I cannot “let” or “not let” Simba do anything! πŸ˜› I think he continued with shaving because this conflicts with his basic ideology of not donating money to organisations!

      And hey, welcome to my blog! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. sb2711 says:

    Yo girl…are you on vacation?

    I wrote this one -http://suchetabiswas.wordpress.com/2014/12/08/of-movembers-and-decembeards-and-januhairys/.

    Don’t know you go the shoutout or not though so pasting it here πŸ™‚

    Like

    • A regular Indian girl! says:

      Nope, not on a vacation, yet! But very busy with other things. Guests at home and had to visit hometown over the weekend. Plus, my brain seems to be on a vacation, no writing ideas and hence, there is stupid rut since some time! Simba says its because my senses hibernate in winter, of course I disagree! πŸ˜‰ Hopefully, it will wash away with Christmas!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. christybharath says:

    i’m not the biggest fan of such movements primarily because it turns into a bandwagon that people jump on to feel like functional, selfless citizens whilst 11 months in the year – they act like selfish juvenille brats. do factor in that i am old, grumpy and awfully attached to my sideburns πŸ™‚ as far as helping goes, i’d rather help at the grassroots level, away from the Internet πŸ™‚ and thanks for nominating, comrade

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Peaceful Anarchist says:

    I don’t mind Movember, but it does bother me when people grow the facil hair without bothering to know what its for. In Australia movember does raise a fair bit of money that goes to both mens health (prostate cancer research, etc) but also to mens mental health (suicide awareness and prevention services). But a lot of guys simply jump on the band wagon by growing the mo but never donating or fundraising. Thinking you can save the world by not shaving is “slacktivism” at its finest.

    Like

  5. anawnimiss says:

    I’m with Simba on the charity front. I’d much rather help in kind than in cash.

    When I was in college, I taught for a year at a juvenile jail, but I stopped after I realized that it was taking a toll on my emotional well being. I just couldn’t stand the sight of this one eight year old boy who had killed his drunk abusive father after he mercilessly beat the mother up one night.

    But I still donate my old clothes and books and furniture whenever I can. My MIL bears all medical expenses for our cook and feeds stray dogs. Mister likes feeding homeless people.

    Also, about the whole Movember concept – I don’t really like it because I suspect that people are actually spending more trying to look well-groomed, like you said, and less on charity. I don’t think anyone even knows why they do it. Typical herd behavior!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A regular Indian girl! says:

      I agree there. No point in charity that doesn’t reach the intended beneficiaries! MIL also believes the same thing and on every birthday of Simba (till he turned 18 and was given responsibility to take it forward), she used to cook food for the homeless in large quantities and together with FIL, used to roam the town looking for people, giving them food packets. πŸ™‚

      About that little kid, it is very disheartening. No doubt you say it was emotionally draining. Brave of you to go and teach for whatever time that you possibly could. Kudos. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. ANooP says:

    Hey regular girl,

    I trust in this for some reason, I celebrated no shave November religiously. I hope they don’t disappoint me and not being in India is a big plus for this organization anyways πŸ˜›

    This was actually a post for some competition in Blogadda. You can check it out in Ruby’s blog.

    Cheers friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Santulan says:

    Exactly.. I don’t know of any charities that deal with men’s issues.. I do think that the Cancer society of India comes close when they do an awareness drive for Prostate cancer in men.

    I didn’t shave in november (I do it less frequently anyway), and when people ask me about it, I explain No Shave november and try and talk to them about prostate cancer.

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts??

