What feminism isn’t and how women are ruining it


So aptly written!!

15 thoughts on “What feminism isn’t and how women are ruining it

  1. A Regular Indian Guy says:

    Unconvinced. Most of the commenters on feminist blogs are bitter, resentful people from troubled relationships. The humble, contented ones have stopped blogging, stopped commenting. Their silence tells they are truly happy. Their children must be getting the right environment for development.

    Like

    • The Ranting Witch says:

      That has more to do with a gender stereotype then with feminism in general, and would be another topic all together, but he totally could be pink and she could be pink or she could be blue and he could be blue. Or they could both be purple. The purpose of the meme was just to add a visual, feminism is not gender against gender but both coming together respectively.

      Like

      • anawnimiss says:

        When you say boys are told that “being a nurse or a stay at home father is not a masculine career” and “Barbies and the color pink are off limits”, you are talking about gender stereotypes.

        So it is confusing when you’re saying that boys should be allowed to wear pink, but are conveying the exact opposite through the visual. So this is no longer just a design issue, it is a content issue.

        If I were making a point as pertinent as this, I would either use a different graphic, or refrain from visiting gender stereotypes. (Though I admit it might be really difficult to talk about equality without challenging stereotypes so I’d probably let the graphic go or edit it).

        Like

        • A regular Indian girl! says:

          Yes, color-coding is gender stereotype. I do agree, both could have been dressed in a color completely different than blue/pink, or even man in pink and woman in blue, but apart from that, the graphic summarises the post well.

          Plus, the graphic doesn’t say boys have to be dressed in blue and women in pink to be equal. It says that women don’t have to be dominant to men and that both should be equal. The intended message (of the graphic) is not of stereotyping. Lets not read too much into it! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • anawnimiss says:

            The problem is not with the graphic itself, RIG. It is actually conveying what it should, and I see that.

            The choice of color is bothering me only because pink and blue are symbolic visual cues and one doesn’t have to read too much into the colors to feel that this particular graphic is refuting the sentiment behind the post.

            When I choose a graphic, I try to make sure that it complements my writing instead of contradicting it, and I have the same expectation when I read.

            I feel that I owe more to fellow bloggers than a casual hey, what a great post, so I openly give feedback when I feel like I should. What the blogger wants to do with it really up to them. They don’t have to agree, you know!

            Like

        • The Ranting Witch says:

          I dont agree that I conveyed the exact opposite with the graphic. Boys and girls should be allowed to choose, that doesnt mean generally gender is associated by color. But I do understand what you are saying.

          Like

          • anawnimiss says:

            Hey TRW, I could try explaining how gender is associated with color – but I won’t coz (a) you probably didn’t mean to imply that through the graphic and (b) if I have to, this whole discussion is kinda rendered moot.
            Also, you don’t have to agree. Your blog, your post, your rules. My feedback is just that, feedback. As long as it is being heard and understood, I’m good. What you do once you’ve processed it is none of my business!

            Like

            • The Ranting Witch says:

              I loved the feedback honestly! Thank you 🙂 its true, I didnt mean to imply anything through the graphic besides that it fit with my rant and I liked it but, this does show that everything should be taken into consideration.

              Again I appreciate any feedback I get 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

        • The Ranting Witch says:

          And to be conpletely honest I just liked the graphic, fits my theme, there is no underlying message or thought behind it besides that.

          Like

Any thoughts??

