Blast from the past – The first few weeks!


So today husband, lets call him Simba from today because I love the name and because I love Simba! So Simba here, was clearing up his old phone and found some messages that he had backed up! From 2011..

The first messages that we had sent to each other!! How cute is that!!

And I was the initiator who talked first:

Hi, this is Regular Indian Girl here, from the conference! A friend of mine cleared his exams and wants a job in your company, do you know of any opening?

I know its lame to talk about a friends resume the first time you are sending a message to someone you think is very intriguing! So here it is – I got attracted to him because he was intriguing! And talked confidently! And asked intelligent questions and had a proper sense of grammar! Now I am not a grammar nazi but I understand basic differences like there and their, like these and this, like proper sentence structure! And I get a tad irritated by someone who speaks “I didn’t got my book today”. Anyways, I digress. So, Simba was intriguing! He used to come late, leave early, talk on phone with important people about tax and tax and …  umm tax. And talk only to his friends and … In short, there was something about Simba!

So this message was the initiator and then we talked about everything under the sun.. Cricket, food, drinks, favorites, holidays, growing up, family, likes, dislikes, etc etc.. And then, he asked me “What kind of guy would you marry?” And I quote my exact reply:

I have a few priorities- my parents, my sister.. He should understand that 2. I don’t like people who lie.. Transparency n truth are very important 3. Good person 4. Good sense of humour 5. Supportive, caring, etc 6. Should be able to take me shopping whenever I want to! Have anyone in mind?? 😉

Ya, I know.. I almost lost the deal by adding the last one! But then, I got lucky, really lucky!

And then, he got lucky.. I lost all interest in shopping because my family drained all interest I had during my wedding-shopping by dragging me to every store in our city, Simba’s city, Mumbai and hometown!

I also remember asking him what kind of girl would he marry, but he hasn’t saved outbox messages. I can’t quote him but I remember it was something like “she should consider both families as important, no lying business, humour, let me watch as much cricket as I want, a good person!”

So our lists matched, to an extent.. Except shopping, which matched itself eventually!

So thats it.. Our first meaningful conversation and how we came to be friends! I have earlier written about The Proposal! And, I plan on continuing “Blast from the past series” to include everything important in my life! So you’ll see a lot more of stupid ramblings, but I know I’ll love it if you love it too!!

Here are few pearls of wisdom I gave him during those first few weeks:

On his asking me whether I pray for a good husband: I don’t pray for a good husband.. He should pray if he wants me or he can go to hell!

On his asking me about my shopping every other day: I work to shop, you seem to have a problem with that??

On 13th Feb (he was asking me again and again whether I’ll be awake till late! *wink* I am not a watchman in my building! Why are you asking whether I’ll be awake again and again. I don’t sacrifice my sleep for anything!

On his sending me some random wisdom message: You are dodh-daya (overwise).

A general forward, I love this and hence, I’ll end here: As we grow up, we learn that even the person who wasn’t supposed to ever let you down, probably will… You will have your heart broken probably more than once and it’s harder everytime. Then, You will break hearts too, so remember how it felt when yours was broken… You will fight with your best friend, You will blame a new love for the things an old one did. You will cry because time is passing fast, and you will eventually loose someone you love. Nothing is permanent, NoOne is immortal. Only memories last forever. . . So click a lot of pictures,, laugh a lot,, and love like you’ve never been hurt because every 60 seconds you spend being upset, is a minute of happiness you’ll never get back. Don’t be afraid that your life will end; rather be afraid that it will never begin again:-)

Hope you guys had a good weekend! I had a nice one.. Hometown, lots of work and diwali shopping for happy!! 😀

8 thoughts on “Blast from the past – The first few weeks!

Any thoughts??

