He’s like a brother to me!!


I don’t understand why someone should be “like a brother” or “like a sister”! Especially when it means that we’re not what you are thinking we are and hence, you can say we’re like siblings!

Really?

I mean I do believe that you can have brotherly / sisterly feelings for people but calling every relationship that is not “love interest” a brotherly/sisterly relationship is way too much, don’t you think?

Why can someone not be friends? Why these stupid aliases?

Is it to make people with suspicious eyes back-off? Why are we feeding the already prominent social belief that a girl and a boy cannot be friends?

I used to do that too! But I stopped once I understood what I was doing!Β Just because someone is close friends with opposite gender, does not mean they are sleeping with each other! And most certainly, it does not mean that they should call each other brother sister!

I rebuke this aliases and starting today, I’m never going to call anyone “like my brother”. Its friends people. Wake up. Don’tΒ make our society more backward than it already is.

A girl and a boy CAN be friends. And all Indians need not be my brothers or sisters. Thanks, but no thanks!!

20 thoughts on “He’s like a brother to me!!

  1. dhwanis says:

    Great post!! I so agree with you, I know quite a few “just like brother and sisters”, who got married or at least were involved in a romantic relationships…

    Like

  2. frillthrills says:

    Hahaha I love this post!!!! I’ve also felt stupid and annoyed about people (AND ME) using this phrase. As you say it’s just a way to keep prying eyes off us I guess. And the worst people are the ones who are actually a couple but try to pull this brother sister crap.. hahahha. Enjoyed reading this one πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. anawnimiss says:

    Yeah, I don’t get it either. I had too many “mamajis” growing up because they were people my mom worked with, because a man and a woman could either be lovers or brother and sister. I remember asking my mom why I couldn’t simply call them “uncle” and she shushed me and looked really guilty. Imagine that!
    Of course a man and a woman can be friends. Anyone who says otherwise is really mistaken.

    Liked by 2 people

    • A regular Indian girl! says:

      Yup.. Gravely mistaken!

      You know, me and hub belong to the same native village and once, many years back my grandpa had asked my father in law to come join him in his work.. One native to another native offer.. He turned it down. But when this was again brought up after our engagement, my mom commented “good you turned it down or else these two were gonna end up being brother and sister”

      I did a brilliant eye roll which she conveniently ignored, and others joined her laughing at this seemingly intelligent joke! Ha!

      Like

Any thoughts??

