Will you marry me?


Okay!! So I wanted to update my blog today and I asked WordPress for inspiration and here comes the quest!

“Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding belly-twisting nervousness: what caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?”

The first thing that comes to my mind is the day Simba proposed me for marriage!!

A short prologue:

We met at a certificate course in his city, A. I used to travel from my city, B, which is three hours drive. His first impression was that of arrogant and self consumed person and he thought I was some dumb chick lost in a place where I shouldn’t be! Well, that was the start!

After the course, one of my very good friends wanted to join the company Simba worked for. He asked me to forward his resume to Simba, which I did and sent a short message of having done so. (I recollected that he was the same guy who came to present on some topic when I was in managing committee of a students organisation.) I told him that and there started the sea of messages to each other!!

In a few days I knew that he was not arrogant and he knew that I was not dumb! And that we were both cricket enthusiasts and haters of K-serials by Ekta Kapoor! The transition from negativity to one of the “closest” friends didn’t take much time! I visited his city for some other seminar, where we met for the second time. All the time he was trying to impress me (I could sense that) and cracking jokes which I found irresistibly funny!! He mentioned that his parents were taking him to a girl-seeing meeting that day (a very regular feature in India for bachelors who have not bee successful in finding a bride for themselves!) which he didn’t want to attend!

He started rejecting girl proposals one by one and his mom sensed that something was amiss with her usually obedient son! She cracked her brains to know why he didn’t like any of the girls they suggested. On some insistence, Simba opened up and told about me. She asked him to ask me whether I would want to be a part of their small family!!

Okay, the prologue wasn’t that short, but aagey: (forward to the proposal day)

I didn’t know of what happened with the girl-seeing or about his conversation with him mommy! I was in office that day and he calls. It was a surprise since he is a rather sincere guy who doesn’t do personal business in office time, unlike the very insincere me! He asked me whether my mom-dad wants to get me married or not. Oh, now that was nasty! I didn’t like the question and told him of course! I am going for boy seeing thing soon enough!

But I did not know he was going to propose! He casually mentioned that my parents can start looking for some good boys in A (his city) and that he knew a very good guy who would want to get married to me!!! I was going through a myriad of emotions. Shock, surprise, happiness, excitement, fear, all at varying degrees were going on inside me! And I was literally shivering. I couldn’t talk to him! Just mumbled something incomprehensible and ran home!

I told my mom about the incident and she was shocked! What happened later might be a part of another post! But it did end up in marriage. So alls well that ends well might be true in our case!

So this was my encounter with heart-pounding, belly twisting nervousness! Getting a proposal and informing mommy dearest about it! How about you? Can you recollect such experiences? Please write about it and send me a link in the comments!! We can have some fun 🙂 🙂

Btw, I have also written about the messages we sent to each other during this time here.

25 thoughts on “Will you marry me?

  1. iku2e says:

    oh this looks interesting 🙂 all guys can look a bride for themselves but the respect for his family and the people around makes him to leave the job to their parents 🙂

    Like

    • A regular Indian girl! says:

      Well.. Leaving the job to the parents is very lame, per me. One, because then your life-partner will be someone conforming your parents’ expectations, not yours and two, because if you are not grown-up enough to take your own decisions, why get married! But this concept of your parents choosing your life partner is very “respected” one in India. Its a measure of how much you respect your parents, as you said. Which I don’t agree with! Some people do find happiness in this way also because most marriages in India mean marriage / relationship between two families, not two individuals. It boils down to – To each their own.

      I hope I understood your comment correctly.

      Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts??

